Brubaker elected to American Law Institute

Thursday, February 13, 2014

Ralph Brubaker has been elected to the American Law Institute (ALI). Founded in 1923, ALI is the preeminent scholarly organization in the United States dedicated to clarifying, modernizing, and improving the law.

Brubaker is considered one of the leading bankruptcy scholars of his generation. He is the editor-in-chief and contributing author of the Bankruptcy Law Letter (West Group) and serves on the editorial advisory board for the American Bankruptcy Institute Law Review. He also serves on the executive committee of the board of directors for the American Bankruptcy Institute and is a member of the advisory board for the St. John’s University School of Law, Bankruptcy LL.M. Program. He was inducted into the American College of Bankruptcy in 2010.

"Ralph Brubaker is widely respected by academics, practitioners, and judges as one of the nation's top bankruptcy scholars, having made foundational scholarly contributions at the intersection of bankruptcy, federal jurisdiction, and civil procedure," said Dean Bruce Smith. "His election to the American Law Institute is a fitting testament to his distinguished scholarly stature and profound impact on bankruptcy law and practice."

Brubaker served as interim dean of the University of Illinois College of Law in 2008-09, after serving as associate dean for academic affairs for the previous two years. He rejoined the Illinois faculty in 2004, returning to his alma mater after teaching courses in bankruptcy, bankruptcy procedure, corporate finance, business associations, and contracts, and serving as the faculty adviser to the Bankruptcy Developments Journal at the School of Law at Emory University in Atlanta, Georgia for 10 years.

After earning an undergraduate degree with Bronze Tablet distinction at Illinois, he passed the C.P.A. exam before pursuing a dual J.D./M.B.A. degree. Brubaker received his J.D. summa cum laude from the College of Law, where he was a member of the Order of the Coif, a Harno Fellow, and recipient of Rickert Awards for Excellence in Academic Achievement and in Legal Writing. He also served as articles editor for the University of Illinois Law Review.

Brubaker joins more than a dozen Illinois faculty members who are members of ALI: John Colombo, William Davey, Matthew Finkin, David Hyman, Harry Krause, Wayne LaFave, Robert Lawless, Andrew Leipold, Peter Maggs, Jason Mazzone, Charles Tabb, Robin Fretwell Wilson, and Bruce Smith (ex officio).