Leipold elected to American Law Institute

Wednesday, November 20, 2013

Andrew D. Leipold, the Edwin M. Adams Professor of Law and director of the Illinois Program in Criminal Law & Procedure, has been elected to the American Law Institute (ALI). Founded in 1923, ALI is the preeminent scholarly organization in the United States dedicated to clarifying, modernizing, and improving the law.

An expert in criminal law and procedure, Leipold has written extensively on grand jury practice, jury nullification, and wrongful convictions and is the co-author of the influential Federal Practice and Procedure: Criminal Law. He received his B.S. summa cum laude from Boston University and his J.D. from the University of Virginia School of Law, where he served as editor-in-chief of the Virginia Law Review and was elected to Order of the Coif. After graduation, he clerked for the Honorable Abner J. Mikva on the U.S. Court of Appeals for the District of Columbia Circuit and for the Honorable Lewis F. Powell, Jr., on the U.S. Supreme Court. 

“For ninety years, ALI has played the leading role in illuminating and reforming numerous fields of American law,” noted Dean Bruce P. Smith. “Andy is a highly respected scholar and a revered teacher, who has advanced the rule of law throughout his legal career. His election to ALI is richly deserved, and he will bring to this prestigious body great expertise, impeccable judgment, and judicious temperament.” 

Leipold has an impressive track record of public service. In 2007, he was appointed to a three-year term on the Judicial Conference Advisory Committee on Criminal Rules by Chief Justice John G. Roberts of the U.S. Supreme Court. He has also served as a consultant to the Illinois Criminal Law Reform Commission, the Governor’s Truth in Sentencing Commission, and the Office of the Independent Counsel for the Whitewater Investigation. A highly decorated teacher, he has received the campus-wide Award for Excellence in Graduate and Professional Teaching, the College of Law’s John E. Cribbet Award for Teaching Excellence, and the College’s Outstanding Faculty Member Award an unprecedented 13 times.  In the 2013 book What the Best Law Teachers Do (Harvard University Press), Leipold was lauded as one of the nation’s top 26 law teachers.

Leipold joins a dozen Illinois faculty members who are members of ALI: John Colombo, William Davey, Matthew Finkin, David Hyman, Harry Krause, Wayne LaFave, Robert Lawless, Peter Maggs, Jason Mazzone, Charles Tabb, Robin Fretwell Wilson, and Bruce Smith (ex officio).