Conlon (’70) and Wolfson (’57) awarded Justice John Paul Stevens Award

Monday, September 30, 2013

William F. Conlon (’70) and The Honorable Warren D. Wolfson (’57) have been awarded the Justice John Paul Stevens Award, presented annually by The Chicago Bar Foundation and The Chicago Bar Association to lawyers and judges who best exemplify Justice John Paul Stevens’ commitment to integrity and public service in the practice of law.  Conceived by Justice Stevens’ former law clerks and first presented in 2000, the Award honors the lifetime efforts of Justice Stevens – a Chicago native – to improve the system of justice, as well as his dedicated commitment to the Chicago Bar Association.

left to right: Bill Conlon, The Honorable Warren Wolfson, and Dean Bruce Smith at the awards ceremony on September 26. 

“These two distinguished alumni exemplify the characteristics for which Justice Stevens was known:  integrity; intellect; courage; decency; and an unflinching commitment to public service,” stated Dean Bruce Smith.  “Both have contributed importantly to the legal profession, to their communities, and to legal education and their alma mater is proud and grateful for their achievements.”

William F. Conlon (’70) is a partner in the Chicago office of Sidley Austin LLP, where he has an active trial and appellate practice in state and federal courts. Prior to joining the firm, Conlon was an Assistant United States Attorney in Chicago and served as chief of the Civil Division of the United States Attorney’s Office. He is a fellow of the American College of Trial Lawyers and a member of the Chicago Board of Directors of the Chicago Bar Foundation, the City of Chicago Police Board, and of the University of Illinois College of Law’s Dean’s Advisory Board. Previously, Conlon served as chairman of the Illinois Judicial Inquiry Board and the Illinois State Board of Ethics. Conlon is an adjunct professor at Northwestern University School of Law and has taught in the College of Law’s Chicago Program. 

The Honorable Warren D. Wolfson (’57) is a former judge of the Illinois First District Appellate Court, 1st Division, having retired from this position in 2009. Wolfson was appointed to the Circuit Court of Cook County in 1975, elected to a full term in 1976, and retained in that position for five consecutive terms. In 1994, he was assigned to the Illinois Appellate Court, 1st District. Prior to his career on the bench, he spent 18 years in criminal defense practice. Wolfson is currently a distinguished visiting professor of law at DePaul University, having previously served as interim dean of its College of Law for two years. He has also taught at Chicago-Kent College of Law and the University of Chicago Law School.

Past recipients of the award from the College of Law include the Honorable Prentice T. Marshall (’51), James D. Montgomery (’56), the Honorable Wayne R. Andersen (’70), and the Honorable James F. Holderman (’71).