Three Law Students Awarded Avery Brundage Scholarships

Friday, May 11, 2012

Law Students Melissa Marrero (Class of 2013), a former varsity and professional tennis player from Aguadilla, Puerto Rico; Sara Lancaster (Class of 2014), a tennis and basketball player from San Antonio, Texas; and Keithan Hedrick (Class of 2015), a football player from Charleston, Illinois, were named 2012-13 Avery Brundage Scholarship recipients.

Brundage Scholarships are awarded to students at the University of Illinois “who are both gifted students and exceptional athletes, for their combined physical and mental development.” Each deserving award winner received $2,500 for the 2012-13 academic year.

The program was established in 1974 by an endowment from the late Avery Brundage, an Illinois alumnus and president of the International and U.S. Olympic committees. Brundage earned a B.S. degree in civil engineering in 1909 from the University of Illinois, later competing in the pentathlon and decathlon at the 1912 Stockholm Olympics. He served as president of the International Olympic Committee from 1952-72.