News Archive - 2013



12/18/2013 In the news: Tax breaks for non-profit hospitals
12/13/2013 Goldenberg Heller PC awards trial advocacy scholarship to 2L Aleksandra Ostojic
12/4/2013 In the news: ACLU sues US bishops over Catholic hospital rules
12/3/2013 3rd edition of Tabb's Law of Bankruptcy published


11/27/2013 In the News: White House faces tough Supreme Court fight on ObamaCare mandate
11/21/2013 Lash named Guy Raymond Jones Chair in Law
11/20/2013 Leipold elected to American Law Institute
11/18/2013 Research: PTO granted patents at a 9% higher rate to entities that generated higher fees
11/18/2013 Research: Explosion of lawsuits brought by ‘patent trolls’ erroneous
11/12/2013 The Gang Green explore the upper Mississippi ecosystem
11/12/2013 In the News: Congress should be empowered in order to uphold the constitutional checks and balances


10/31/2013 Johnson, Finkin file amicus curiae with SCOTUS
10/31/2013 Senator Daschle featured speaker at the 2013 Vacketta-DLA Piper lecture
10/31/2013 Vacketta ('65) inducted to Illinois ROTC Hall of Fame


9/30/2013 Conlon (’70) and Wolfson (’57) awarded Justice John Paul Stevens Award
9/16/2013 College of Law receives $2 million gift to support advocacy training
9/5/2013 Benson on Illinois' same-sex marriage ban case


8/30/2013 Leroy in NYT on the NFL concussion suit settlement
8/29/2013 Kaplan: Taxation of retirement income in need of reform
8/28/2013 Welcome J.D. Class of 2016 and LL.M. Class of 2014!
8/16/2013 Lawless speaks on U.S. bankruptcy law in Thailand
8/16/2013 Jane Hays ('79) appointed to Illinois Board of Higher Education
8/13/2013 Results of the 2013 Law Firm Challenge
8/5/2013 R. Ross published volume on legal pluralism and empires
8/5/2013 Heald's copyright research on The Atlantic
8/1/2013 West Bloomington Housing Collaborative gets $1.5m grant
8/1/2013 Thank you to alumni and friends


7/25/2013 Loopholes in health care law could result in employee harassment, Thomas, Molk say
7/19/2013 WSJ: Hyman study concludes Google's proposal to EU insufficient
7/12/2013 Avery Brundage Scholarships Awarded to Two Law Students
7/11/2013 Sean Murphy ('14), Assisted in Trial Conviction in NY Supreme Court
7/5/2013 Wawrzynek ('09) honored with Young Lawyer of the Year Award
7/1/2013 Leipold in Washington Post on 5th Amendment right


6/24/2013 Paula Holderman sworn-in as ISBA president
6/12/2013 Community Preservation Clinic awarded $794K grant from Illinois Attorney General
6/10/2013 Leipold receives ISBA Presidential Commendations
6/6/2013 McDade authors non-fiction book, Thieves of Book Row, to good reviews


5/31/2013 Leipold: Students don't surrender all their rights at the door
5/28/2013 The tact, tone, and timing of a high-stakes apology: Robbennolt on NPR
5/28/2013 IP expert Heald on Bowman v. Monsanto
5/23/2013 Dean Smith visits Law Firm Challenge firms
5/23/2013 Did Lerner Forfeit her 5th Amendment Right? Leipold talks to the WSJ
5/22/2013 Lash featured in PBS' Constitution USA
5/22/2013 Colombo on Bloomberg
5/16/2013 Investiture of Prof. Freyfogle as Swanlund Chair
5/16/2013 Do away with 501(c)(4)s? Colombo explains why in the NYT
5/10/2013 Lawless elected to membership of National Bankruptcy Conference as conferee
5/10/2013 Robbennolt receives two awards for excellence
5/10/2013 R. Ross awarded for outstanding scholarship
5/7/2013 Michael L. Tipsord (’84) to give 2013 Convocation Address
5/3/2013 Dean Smith's 2013 State of the College Address


4/30/2013 The Honorable James F. Holderman Jr. ('71) Recipient of Alumni Loyalty Award
4/30/2013 Obama nominates Colin Bruce (’89) for federal judgeship
4/30/2013 Stacey Kielbasa (’99) becomes president of NALP
4/29/2013 5 alumni honored as "Pillars of the Bar"
4/15/2013 2013 Law Firm Challenge Pacesetter Firms
4/3/2013 Constitutionality of the IL pension reform efforts
4/3/2013 Christopher Kanis, Adjunct Professor, Passed Away
4/3/2013 Research: Poor math skills affect legal decision-making
4/3/2013 Study: Key differences between bankrupt churches, small businesses
4/1/2013 2L Isabel Freitas Peres Awarded Lemann Graduate Fellowship


3/27/2013 Married alumni clerking for federal judges
3/27/2013 Kaplan: Supreme Court case could have tax consequences for same-sex couples
3/27/2013 Professor Daniel Hamilton Named Dean of UNLV Law
3/25/2013 Fred H. Bartlit, Jr. (’60) Named Among 100 Most Influential Lawyers in America
3/18/2013 U of I Phi Alpha Delta Mock Trial Teams Place First, Fourth at National Competition in Washington, D.C.
3/18/2013 2013 Ward F. McDonald Scholarship Named
3/11/2013 Kaplan: Implications of Credit Card Debt for the 50+


2/27/2013 Kesan Helping Develop Ambitious New Digital Forensics Curriculum
2/27/2013 Alumni Named Deans of Law Schools
2/27/2013 Elder Law Journal Ranks 3rd in Tax Journal Rankings
2/20/2013 The Hon. Marianne Jackson (’73) Receives James A. Seaberry Award for Excellence
2/19/2013 College of Law Receives $400K Grant from Illinois Attorney General
2/18/2013 Do Apologies Matter in Bankruptcy? New Study from Profs Lawless and Robbennolt in WSJ


1/30/2013 Daliah Saper (’04) on 20/20 Discussing Te'o Hoax
1/29/2013 Judge Jeffrey Ford (’76) Honored with 2012 National Public Citizen of the Year Award
1/23/2013 College of Law Mourns Passing of Peer Pedersen ('48)
1/14/2013 Good News about IRA Charitable Rollover Gifts
1/10/2013 Skadden Fellowship Awarded to Hannah Weinberger-Divack (’13)
1/27/2013 Students Study Environmental Law in Costa Rica