News Archive - 2012



12/4/2012 Professor Eric Freyfogle Named Swanlund Chair


11/11/2012 The Honorable Debra Walker (’87) Appointed Chair of Illinois Supreme Court Commission on Professionalism
11/6/2012 Adela Carlin (’00) Recipient of The Chicago Bar Foundation’s Sun-Times Public Interest Law Fellowship
11/7/2012 College of Law Earns Best State Bar Passage Rate
11/2/2012 Former U.S. Ambassador Jeffrey Davidow Gave 2012 Vacketta-DLA Piper Lecture


10/10/2012 African American Jurors Not Significantly Underrepresented, Report Shows
10/4/2012 Harvard Law Professor Lawrence Lessig Gave David C. Baum Lecture
10/5/2012 5 Alums Listed in Chicago Lawyer Magazine’s 40 under 40
10/4/2012 Tax Expert Richard Kaplan on Romney’s $17K Cap Income Tax Deductions


9/25/2012 Professor Mazzone: Federal Law Needed to Safeguard 'Digital Afterlives'
9/28/2012 Carl L. Vacketta Scholarship among 13 Major Gifts to UIUC
9/5/2012 Professor Thomas' Paper Hits SSRN All-time Top 10 Downloads for Journal


8/30/2012 Professor Melissa Wasserman Co-Organizes Empirical Patent Law Conference
8/27/2012 Welcome J.D. Class of 2015 and LL.M. Class of 2013
8/9/2012 Larry Ribstein Honored Posthumously with Martin I. Lubaroff Award
8/8/2012 Wendy Shparago Cappelletto ('90) Appointed to NAELA Board of Directors
8/8/2012 Elder Law Expert, Professor Kaplan, Debunks Medicare Misconceptions
8/6/2012 Professor Ross Organizes Symposium on Comparative Early Modern Legal History


7/25/2012 Professor Colombo Testifies Before Ways and Means Committee
7/26/2012 The National Jurist Names Illinois Law to Its 2012 List of Most Innovative Law Schools
7/26/2012 ABA Honors Chief Judge Holderman (’71) with Mark T. Banner Award
7/25/2012 ABA Council Decision
7/2/2012 Professor Cynthia Williams Appointed to EPA Board
7/2/2012 Professor Rowell on Toxic Waste Storage in Clinton Landfill Bill
7/2/2012 Professor Lash Talks Justice Roberts on the Obamacare Supreme Court Ruling


6/19/2012 Karen DeGrand, ’85, Installed as President of Appellate Lawyers Association
6/14/2012 John E. Thies, '88, Installed as 136th President of ISBA
6/12/2012 Professor LeRoy on NFL Concussion Lawsuit
6/12/2012 Two of Professor Thomas' Papers Hit All-time Top 10 Downloads for Journal
6/12/2012 Gerald Cassioppi, '82, Named DuPage Bar Lawyer of the Year


5/2/2012 Students Study Microfinance in Malawi
5/29/2012 Professor Dharmapala Elected to Board of American Law and Economics Association
5/29/2012 John Lafond, '86, to Receive Joseph Bartylak Memorial Legal Services Award
5/22/2012 Professor Wasserman Given the 2012 Carroll P. Hurd Award for Excellence in Faculty Scholarship
5/18/2012 Professor, Associate Dean Colombo on Hospitals’ Tax Exempt Status
5/16/2012 Convocation for the Class of 2012
5/16/2012 Professor Sara Benson on Obama’s Support for Same Sex Marriage
5/16/2012 Professor Richard Kaplan on Bill to Require State Retirees Pay Insurance Premiums
5/11/2012 Three Law Students Awarded Avery Brundage Scholarships
5/11/2012 Congratulations to the 2012 Rickert Award Recipients
5/7/2012 Distinguished Alumni Awards Presented at Annual Alumni Luncheon
5/3/2012 CEO of Fastcase to Give College of Law Convocation Address
5/1/2012 Announcing the 2012 Lisnek Award Winners
5/1/2012 Professor Heald's Study on Copyright Protection Hits The Atlantic
5/1/2012 Professor Kesan on Improving Government Cybersecurity
5/1/2012 Law Students Witness Truck Run by Bio-methane in Omaha


4/23/2012 University of Illinois College of Law Successfully Completes $50 Million Capital Campaign
4/6/2012 Eldar Sharif Lecture Available on Video
4/3/2012 Professor Hurd’s View on Hate Crime Legislation in the NYT
4/2/2012 Announcing the Inaugural Alumni Loyalty Award Recipient


3/1/2012 Sam Mendenhall, '91, Receives Chicago Illini of the Year Award
3/27/2012 College of Law Launches Chicago Program
3/22/2012 Constitutional Law Expert Kurt Lash on Health Care Mandate
3/13/2012 Illinois Law Honored by Illinois Innocence Project
3/13/2012 Justin Bernbrock, ’12, Honored as Distinguished Law Student by American College of Bankruptcy
3/9/2012 Professor Wexler Selected as Academic Fellow of the Foundation for the Defense of Democracies
3/9/2012 Lisa Madigan Spoke at Inaugural SBA Conference on State Law and Public Policy
3/9/2012 Jim Murphy, ’85, Receives National Honor for Client Service
3/7/2012 Law Students Prepare for Malawi Trip by Raising Funds and Gathering Supplies
3/6/2012 National Law Journal Ranks Illinois Law in Annual Survey of “Go-To Law Schools”


2/29/2012 Professor Leipold Quoted in WSJ on CME Subpoenas
2/25/2012 Scholarship at College of Law Established in Honor of Stuart M. Mamer, ’47
2/21/2012 Professor Beckett Honored as Distinguished Alumni of Champaign-Urbana Schools
2/17/2012 Clinic Students to Provide Mediation Service to McLean County
2/13/2012 Former Dean to Lead College in Texas
2/7/2012 7th Annual Comparative Law Works in Progress Workshop
2/6/2012 Would the Buffet Rule Change the Tax Rate for the Wealthy? Tax Expert Professor Kaplan Says No


1/25/2012 Student Legal Relief in New Orleans
1/25/2012 New Study by Illinois Law Professors Sheds Light on Racial Bias in Bankruptcy
1/25/2012 Professor Leroy Explains Illinois Employment Law on ABC News
1/25/2012 Professor Lawless on Bankruptcy Decline in NYT
1/25/2012 Professor Aviram: ‘Bail-ins’ Exacerbate Market Bubbles
1/25/2012 Professor Lawless on Bankruptcy, Debt, and the Economy
1/25/2012 Professor Garoupa's Article Evidence in Philippines Case
1/20/2012 11 Firms Setting the Pace for Law Firm Challenge
1/6/2012 Professor Hyman Receives Grant for Healthcare Law and Policy Research